Neophyte Head-fi'r Lookin' for an amp + phones! (Saw you in Stereophile!)
Apr 26, 2003 at 4:04 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 21

Noesis

Head-Fier
Hi!
I'm new to all this, so bear with me.
smily_headphones1.gif
I'm a young audiophile. At my home I have a system I have worked hard to make sound good, but I travel a lot. In the summers I work in a factory in Florida and somehow I always tend to be on the road! I was at a loss on how to satisfy my listening needs when away from home until my trusty Stereophile Magazine came this week and I read about you guys in the Letters section. So here I am!

I want to peice together a good headphone listening system for me to take on my travels... I travel in a truck and have ample room for gear (www.darktide.com/noesis/ram/) and can safetly store it. In the summers I'm down in Florida working at a factory, at nights I'm in an apartment hardly suitable for a system it would take to satisfy my crave for reproduction of my favorite recordings. Headphones seem to be the answer!

I tried the headphone amp on my receiver and it's terrible. You would think for what you pay for a good receiver they would put something decent in there. Heh.

I want to be able to hook up to wall outlets. While batteries have their advantages (less worry about the quality of power), I listen for long periods of times (sometimes I'll listen to three full CDs in one evening, I could care less about gear, I'm in it for the music!) and batteries always tend to die too soon for my tastes.

So, I want to peice together a budget system. Here are my notes:
-Closed headphone. I hate outside noise like airconditioners, people blathering and such when I'm listening. I heard Beyerdynamic was good?
-My musical tastes mostly consist of country (not pop-country, however), classic rock and the blues. That is in the order of how often I listen to each.

Here is what I need:
-Headphone (Closed, as noted above).