Need help with hi-rez music
Sep 30, 2011 at 3:22 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

dmyster

New Head-Fier
Let me begin by saying that I am confused. I am new to the audiophile world with only a macbook pro and an ipod as my only sources and have recently become aware of the 24/96 and 24/192 formats and have a few questions.

1) I've heard that you can only rip cd's up to 16/44.1, is this true?

2) If that is true, how does everyone acquire music above cet format? I've found hdtracks.com, but what other ways are there?

3) How do you play formats above 16/44.1? Can itunes/ipods play 24/96 or 24/192? I've read a little about J Rivers Media Center, is that my only hope? I read that my macbook pro can only source 16/48 out of usb and 24/96 via optical (I think), so I would need a usb dac for 24/96 or 24/192 anyways.

4) Do other portable media players play these formats?

5) How would you describe the difference between 16/44.1 and 24/96 or 24/192, is it significant?

Thanks in advance for any help :D Those are the only questions I can think of as of now.

Dmyster

Sep 30, 2011 at 4:08 PM Post #4 of 7
1 – Technically you can but as the content of a CD is 16/44.1 you probably won’t gain anything except a bigger file.

2- a couple of web shops offer Hires, Google is your friend
Some free downloads: http://www.2l.no/hires/index.html

3 – You must have the hardware able to do so.
Look for USB class audio 2 DACs for > 96 kHz

4- Some do

5- There are technical reasons why Hires might sound better (bigger dynamic range, higher frequencies)
A common explanation  is that as it is a niche market, it is not forced by management to compete in the loudness war. So simple good quality recordings not polluted by dynamic range compression.

Sep 30, 2011 at 4:09 PM Post #5 of 7
Bit Depth: