Need help with choosing setup for HD650
Oct 11, 2013 at 1:00 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

Evelynn3211

New Head-Fier

Ok so pretty much im new to this and dont know that much about it yet. Im interested in buying the HD650, changing from my sony MDR-XB500. 

Im using this on computer only, right now im using an old Creative X-Fi xtreme music i think, so I know i need an amp to drive the 650s. My question is, which would be the best setup?

Before i was thinking of either going with the ASUS Xonar Essence STX or the HT | OMEGA Claro Halo XT. Bu after reading everywhere, I saw someone say that neither of these have an actual dedicated headphone amp (shrug) , and so people were talking about using an external amp and a DAC. 

I really dont liky my old sound card anymore since they dont update their drivers and it sometimes buggs out ( sound goes away and i have to reboot, or random screeech noises lol) but if im outputing digitally to a dac or however it works and i dont need to upgrade the sound card thats ok too. 

Sorry if i butchered everything , but im really new to all this so im sure im wrong here and everywhere else lol, patience please! , Thanks in advance for any help you can spare for me <3

Oct 11, 2013 at 1:56 PM Post #2 of 5
Asus Xonar DX or D1 sound card (used , $60), comes with the CS4398 DAC chip, but no headphone amplifier.
Cheapest you should spend for a headphone amplifier, Schiit Magni headphone amplifier, $99.

Oct 11, 2013 at 2:01 PM Post #3 of 5

Ok so pretty much I'm new to this and don't know that much about it yet.
I'm interested in buying the HD650, changing from my Sony MDR-XB500. 

I'm using this on computer only, right now I'm using an old Creative X-Fi Xtreme music I think,
so I know I need an amp to drive the 650s. My question is, which would be the best setup?

Before i was thinking of either going with the ASUS Xonar Essence STX
or the HT | OMEGA Claro Halo XT. But after reading everywhere,