Need help deciding headphones (budget around $300)
Jul 1, 2013 at 4:12 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Sam Powie

New Head-Fier
Hi, I'm new to the world of headphones, as I primarily use iems. But I feel it is time to venture beyond my good ol westone um3x.

My budget is around $300. I listen mostly to metal and rock music, and use my ipod or computer to play my music.
I haven't got an amp, but I am open to purchasing one. I also prefer a pair of headphone that is somewhat portable as I may want to carry it around, but sound quality and comfort is of greater importance.

The iems I own are fairly neutral, so I am interested in a pair of headphones with more grunt and sound more exciting and lively. I live in the middle of nowhere so I have limited opportunities to actually test them myself, but from the forum these ones have caught my interest:

Beyerdynamic Tesla DT1350, reviews suggest they are a tad uncomfortable, and I wear glasses as well
Sennheiser HD 600 and HD 598: how clearly can people around me hear open back headphones, because I might occasionaly use them in public, and is an amp a must?
Shure SRH840: 
Sony MDR7509HD:

Well any further suggestions and advice is most appreciated.

Jul 1, 2013 at 5:19 AM Post #2 of 6
Quote:
Hi, I'm new to the world of headphones, as I primarily use iems. But I feel it is time to venture beyond my good ol westone um3x.

My budget is around $300. I listen mostly to metal and rock music, and use my ipod or computer to play my music.
I haven't got an amp, but I am open to purchasing one. I also prefer a pair of headphone that is somewhat portable as I may want to carry it around, but sound quality and comfort is of greater importance.

The iems I own are fairly neutral, so I am interested in a pair of headphones with more grunt and sound more exciting and lively. I live in the middle of nowhere so I have limited opportunities to actually test them myself, but from the forum these ones have caught my interest: