Need help deciding between headphones for metal.
Dec 23, 2008 at 3:19 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

Kjettar

New Head-Fier
Hello, i am a new member at Head-Fi.

I am pretty new to headphones and i am looking to buy new headphones. I listen to Black Metal mainly, with Sognametal (melodic black metal) and some Death Metal. This is a sample of what i listen : YouTube - 1349-I Am Abomination

Due to budget constraints, i have narrowed to 2 headphones. I wanted to get Koss PortaPro, but living in Canada, i can't find it locally and i will get killed on shipping (which will rise the prise of PortaPros to about 80$).

I am considering Sennheiser PX-100 and Alessandro MS-1's (i am ready to jump into this price category if it is worth it).

I am reading that PX-100 has amazing value. I am not sure how good it is for agressive Black Metal.

Dash recommended me Alessandro MS-1's. I know they are better than PX-100, but how much? Is it worth paying 50$ for someone on a tight budget to get Alessandros?

Finally, i live in Canada. No Grados for me.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!
o2smile.gif

Dec 23, 2008 at 3:33 AM Post #2 of 7
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kjettar /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Dash recommended me Alessandro MS-1's. I know they are better than PX-100, but how much? Is it worth paying 50$ for someone on a tight budget to get Alessandros?

They are like a zillion times better than the PX-100. The PX-100 is nothing more than a decent value for money, and is nowhere close to being a giant killer (in fact compared to the KSC75 I don't think you can consider the PX-100 to be a decent value for money). The MS1 easily beats it when it comes to the performance/cost ratio. At the bare minimal I'll recommend the MS1, the MS1 does more than a decent job.

Dec 23, 2008 at 3:51 AM Post #3 of 7
The super.fi 5 pro's are supposed to be good for metal, which is why I'm getting a pair. They may be a bit out of your price range though, about $150-200.