Need help choosing a media player.
Nov 28, 2007 at 10:03 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

JonnyBoy

Head-Fier
I'll just copy this over from an archos forum because I'm way too lazy to retype it. It'll give you an idea of what I need.

Well, I'll introduce myself real quick. My name is Jon and I'm an design student at the University of Cincinnati. Until recently I've been just peachy with my Cowon X5, but I've been having a hard time with the fact that I simply can't fit all my music on it. Right now my collection is around 95 gigs, and I would absolutely love to carry it all around with me.

I've never been an iFan. Nobody can deny how fantastic the iPod initially was from a user-friendliness and design standpoint, but certain things always scared me off, including reports of sound quality, and the fact that everybody and their grandmother has one...and people are always having them break.

Now, I see there are a few options for large capacity players. Obviously the iPod Classic, and just recently I learned about the 605 Wifi. The Price of the 605 is pretty awesome, and all the features make me lust after it, but there are certain things that are scaring me away.

Basically, here are a list of my priorities. Being poor and obsessed with music, it's my first priority in a player. I am not an audiophile or anything, but I do own a fairly decent set of headphones (Grado SR60), and I like my music pretty loud sometimes (due to the fact that they aren't noise canceling).

I'm also pretty busy with schoolwork, and don't always have time (or I fall asleep before I get a chance) to charge my player. The X5L was great, because it had a huge battery capacity and I was able to use it for a few days before charging became a problem.