Need headphone advice, $150-200, open
Jul 25, 2004 at 9:46 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

Natsuiro

500+ Head-Fier
Hi, i'm new to this Head-fi world so i'd appriciate some advice.
I'm looking for new headphones around $150, around 200 max.

I was considering the HD-555, HD-580, and K 501s.

I listen to mostly rock and pop.. also some classical here and there.

I heard the K 501s lack bass. How much would this be lacking? Right now I am using HD-497s. Would the bass be worse on those than what I am currently using?

Also I was wondering what sort of amp would be required to run these headphones.

thx alot for the help!

Jul 25, 2004 at 10:57 AM Post #2 of 14
Welcome to head-fi, sorry about your wallet!
smily_headphones1.gif

Senn 555s are pretty good, probably a better choice than the 580s, and cost as low as $100 (see froogle.com). A small amp might help them a bit, but you might survive without one. The next step up, 595s, are meant to be very good, near top of the line, and the 555s are meant to be 80% of them.

The 580s would need a bigger amp, and cost from about $150. For a long time they were considered to be the best headphones in the world, but have now been superceeded by the 600 and 650s. The 595s are reputed to be somewhere between the 600 and 650.

My next purchase will be 595s, I think. I hope my ramblings help a little
smily_headphones1.gif

Jul 25, 2004 at 1:27 PM Post #3 of 14
hi natsuiro, welcome to head-fi! i see that commando has given you the full welcome, so i'll skip that.
wink.gif

first off - would you be amping your cans? if not then looking at your music preferences i would recommend you try the akg100. i've discovered these little gems recently and well to sum up, it's the little brother of the k501 - easier to drive with far more bass.