Need best custom in-ear monitor for noise isolation, jazz/classical
Sep 28, 2014 at 1:32 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

majmin7

New Head-Fier
Hi folks,

I am trying to find the most noise-isolating custom, in-ear, monitor that I can.  I am new to this market, and would really appreciate your thoughts.  I will be using it for casual listening to jazz/classical/newgrass---little or no rock/pop.  Price below $800; ideally, $400.  Located in USA.

I have invested about 18 solid hours of research by now.  Silicon (not acrylic) is the best at noise isolation.  I know of two silicon options: Sensaphonics 2X-S, and Spiral Ear 2-Way Pro. 

I am worried that the Sensaphonics model is tuned as a reference for musicians, and will not sound pleasing as a daily-listening earphone.  I know less about the Spiral Ear, but it seems to be targeted more toward the listener market.  

Can anyone comment on this?  I would really appreciate your thoughts.

Thanks,
-Eric

Sep 28, 2014 at 8:10 AM Post #2 of 12
What exactly do you need the isolation for? Just so you know, acrylic CIEMs isolates really well. When I'm around people, I don't hear them talking even when music isn't playing. When I'm walking home, and there's a lot of traffic around me, I don't hear any of it with music on. Sometimes I feel like it's too isolating lol.

Try putting on earplugs/IEMs and make sure you get a good seal. That's the level of isolation you should get with them on, or more. And then add the music and it'll probably just drown out all the noise out. You can also request stuff like making your CIEMs thicker or deeper if your ear impressions allow it.

Sep 28, 2014 at 2:43 PM Post #3 of 12