Need advice buying 1 or 2 headphones (& possibly amp) to satisfy different purposes for absolute max US $700
Nov 16, 2013 at 4:43 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Noob Meister Jr

Head-Fier
First of all, I'd just like to say hi to everyone.I will italicise the intro & background info so you can easily see what to skip over if you want to go straight to the subject of this thread.

I'm a noob, just looking to get into making music and listening to it in all its glory. I have been searching around the internet for the last few days trying to figure out what to buy and have only become less and less certain and more and more confused. So please, I need your help!

I intend on making music on my macbook with real drums, ukulele, voice (includes voice with no effects and beatboxing with plenty of effects using logic pro), djembe, and electronic music from my midi keyboard and computer software. I don't even have a microphone yet - just the internal one on my macbook. This is just background info we don't particularly need to discuss in this thread.

The music I listen to is very different from what I intend to make. I listen to mainly metal and progressive rock, with a bit of everything else - I quite like variety. My music catalog is very empty as I've been burgled recently but will likely become primarily higher quality digital formats- e.g. flac, and the highest quality mp3s where flac is unavailable. I'm also building a vinyl collection slowly.

My partner will also be using at least one of these headphonesShe listens to a lot of alternative rock/pop music with female vocals - such as Regina Spektor, Laura Marling, Kate Bush; as well as prog and post rock, a bit of folky and indyish stuff, and a bit of traditional heavy metal/ power metal. Lots of her music has acoustic guitars. She will primarily listen to high quality mp3s (yes I know that's an oxymoron).

OK so I basically have 4 purposes

1. My partner listening to music at work. For this we need a pair: