Need a bit of help building home podcasting studio
Nov 13, 2008 at 9:17 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Kubaki

New Head-Fier
After lurking these forums for a while I finally decided to present you with my problem. I only hope this is the right place to ask this... So I'm planning to build a little home studio for podcasting and music recording. I am a newbie in this department and I really need some help. I'm planning to use my PC as a digital recorder. For the other components I'm considering:
- microphone: MXL 770 Mogami
- preamp: Behringer Tube Ultragain MIC200
- DAC: behringer F-Control Audio FCA202 or maybe E-MU 0404 PCI (I'm not interested in USB cards, or maybe I should be?)
- headphones: Denon AH-D1001

Will this setup work?
Do I need to buy additional headphones amplifier?
Any advice is highly appreciated.

Maybe I should use other headphones, something like AKG K271 S, which are dedicated for musical studio use? However I heard that k271 are somewhat less comfortable, and I intend to use my headphones also for music and gaming (50/50). I will often wear them for longer periods of time.

PS.
I apologize for my English, it's not my native language. Feel free to point out my mistakes, so I can avoid them in the future
biggrin.gif

Nov 14, 2008 at 12:40 PM Post #2 of 6
Many people here find it difficult to decide on headphones and amp just for music listening, and you throw music recording and podcast production and gaming in the mix too. I suppose that completely different setups would be ideal for these different uses.

Nov 14, 2008 at 12:43 PM Post #3 of 6
Having said that, maybe the HD580 would be something for you, it's comfortable (open so it won't get too warm on your ears either), rather neutral many people think (good for production) while great for music listening (I think). For normal podcasting it doesn't matter what you use I suppose, and I have no idea about gaming.