my impression with the KSC75s (mini review)
Jul 12, 2005 at 7:16 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 1

b-sides

100+ Head-Fier
alright... this is my first attempt at a review. i'm not very good with quantitative descriptions and tehcnical terms, so bear with me.

i needed a good pair of on the go headphones because i was sick of getting funny looks from people when i wore my HD497s everywhere. the things i do for good sound. originaly, i was conisdering these or the E2Cs. i decided to get these since theyre easy to obtain. mind you, i still may get the E2Cs. after reading all the hype about these (a la "ksc75: giant killer" thread), how could i resist the sub-$20 pricetag? after all, i am a student on a budget.

my initial thoughts after tested them out in a coffee shop: wow, these look amazingly cheap and fragile.

i also had a problem with the right ear clip. it was amazingly loose, and i had to do some prying to get them a little tighter. it is still much looser than the left ear, and the entire clip is prone to detatching.

the 75s also experienced the flaw with the 4G ipod's headphone jack issue. i seem to only have a problem with phones with a bent jack, like the 75s. i had no problem with my HD497s or the stock apple buds. what happens is that moving around the jack somehow triggers the autopause function that the ipod has when the jack is removed while a song is playing. i recall someone saying that this is because the jack on headphones that experience this problem are a wee bit slimmer, therefore movement tricks the ipod into thinking the phones have been detatched. it seems like a minor annoyance, but its actually pretty substantial.