My first DIY amp
Nov 24, 2002 at 2:48 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

Gmd

Head-Fier
Hi, I don't post here that much but I wanted to show you guys my first amp. I went with the cmoy design to start with something easy and I ended up using all my parts from radioshack (I am a poor college student and after buying all my headphone equipment I can't afford the better parts, lol). Anyways here are some pics of it.

Front View:
http://members.cox.net/reftekari/HeadphoneAmp1.jpg

Rear View:
http://members.cox.net/reftekari/HeadphoneAmp2.jpg

As you can see from the pic I decided to make it wall powered instead of battery operated. Even though I am only using the LM741 opamps it sounds pretty good to me, not as good as the OBH-11SE but pretty decent. The only problem so far is the radioshack volume pot which is very poor quality, it doesnt turn on until I have it turned to almost half way and at lower volumes the sound is uneven with more coming from the left.

Nov 24, 2002 at 2:58 AM Post #2 of 9
Very nice work..

Well.. Maybe you can swap the opamp for a BB OPA134 or a low cost AD chip some time later.

A black or gold knob would suit the black enclosure better.
biggrin.gif

And what's that I see? A poor college student with HD600's + Equinox cable upgrade + Creek OBH-11SE?

Haha... Looks like I'm a really really poor junior college student then....

Maybe you can try and get the cheap imitation ALPS pot. At US$6, they are supposed to have very good tracking.

Tip: If your sources don't have DC offset, remove the input capacitor. If you capacitor is a cheapy from Rat Shack, chances are that it's ruining your sound.

Nov 24, 2002 at 3:15 AM Post #3 of 9
Wow... I only wish I could be that poor.
biggrin.gif
The creek is a beautiful thing.

Anyway, I like your amp... It is very well finished and clean... Good job! I hope that the one I'm building over Christmas vacation looks half that good.

Nov 25, 2002 at 2:26 AM Post #5 of 9