My first and last "real" DAC/Amp
Apr 30, 2018 at 1:09 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

Tsyras

New Head-Fier
Like many people here, I am relatively new to the world of adequate audio gear and by no means consider myself an audiophile. I greatly prefer a V-shape curve to my music.

My first pair of "decent" headphones were the V-Moda M-100s. I had bought a pair of the low end V-Modas years ago after seeing their popularity (in-person and on Amazon), and thought they were great. After I upgraded to the M-100s on a Black Friday sale in 2016 I was blown away at the subtleties I could hear, and could hardly even stand listening to my original pair.

I then purchased a pair of Sennheiser HD 6XXs from Massdrop and enjoy those a lot as well. I go back and forth with which pair I use, but from a utilitarian standpoint I like the open-back design of the Sennheiser so I can hear my family if they need me. In all cases, I still use an equalizer to add quite a bit of bass (even with the already bass-heavy M-100s), because that is how I enjoy my music.

Currently I am using an external sound card (Sound BlasterX G5), but it is a little weak for my HD 6XXs. I don't ever see myself growing a collection of DACs and amps to satisfy my cravings (my wife would kill me because I already have the very expensive hobby of photography). I *may* consider adding a tube amp for fun down the line.

My question is simple. I want to buy the "forever" DAC and amp combo, what would you recommend? I am leaning towards Schiit products for a number of reasons. I like what I have seen of the company and their products seem reasonably priced for the reported quality (also I like how their products would look on my desk).

Here are the choices I am considering:

1) Magni 3 + Modi 2U. I think this is the best overall value (even though the "2" on the front of the Modi will annoy my OCD while the Magni doesn't have a numeric label).