Music Streamer II and imac?
Jul 29, 2011 at 12:03 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 3

franconero

Head-Fier
I'm just getting started building a modest little setup and so far I've got a Schiit Asgard and Sennheiser H598 and want a good/very good inexpensive DAC. I've read lots of good things about the Music Streamer II but I'm wondering - since my iMac and Macbook Pro offer optical outs, am I making a mistake or losing anything by getting the usb only DAC? I'd sort of like the go for the Schiit Bifrost to go with my Asgard, but $350 is a little steep.

Jul 29, 2011 at 2:16 AM Post #2 of 3
Heya,

Well, what's your maximum limit on the budget then?

I'm of the mind that you should spend most of your budget on your headphones, then make sure you have a good source (lossless audio) and then make sure your DAC is worthy of feeding your headphones, finally, the amp last. You spent more on your amp than your headphones, I wager. They retail about the same cost, but you can get HD598's in the $180 range, while the Asgard runs $250 usually (unless you got it used, around $200).

And now you're talking about getting a $350 Bitfrost DAC. It's likely to be an incredible DAC, but you're paying more than your headphones for it, which is odd. That's something that people with top end flagship material do.

For the budget person, who doesn't want to spend $350, I'm surprised you picked up the headphones you did, but you're willing to spend nearly three times the headphones' cost for your amp/dac combination.

Well, I'll get off the soap box now. You have what you have and hopefully love it. Let's get you a source.

I'm going to suggest a super cheap solution and then the more modest solution.