Monster beats studio/ Sennheiser HD 380 pro/ Grados SR225i or Grados SR325is
Dec 28, 2009 at 3:55 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 34

sar

New Head-Fier
Hi
Okay I am quite new to this. i dont know a lot about music, except that i listen to rock, metal, heavy metal, etc (mostly iron maiden
biggrin.gif
), so bass is quite important to me, along with 'clarity of the music'. i usually just use my ipod, but sometimes also my computer. i also dont plan to get an amplifier. i have been reading quite a bit and cant decide between the four headphones i mentioned in the title. i have never tried on any of those except the Beats, and they're really good ( there are no shops close by for me to try on headphones). After reading about the other headphones, and going through quite a few reviews, i have come to the conclusion that the Beats are simply over priced, since there are other headphones, as good as the beats, just cheaper (although i have heard the bass in the Beats is better than most of the other headphones). also, noise cancellation is quite important to me aswell, since i travel quite a lot. apparently the noise cancellation of the grados is quite bad, but id like to see what someone who has actually tried them says about that. Also, if there are any other headphones out there that are good, please do mention them. i plan to spend anything up to $300.

thanks for the help.

Dec 28, 2009 at 4:02 PM Post #4 of 34
Grado is the typical recommendation for rock/metal music. The design of Grados is such that the driver is open on both ends, so sounds "leak" in or out. I haven't ever noticed the leaking in to be much of an issue, but they wouldn't be optimal for use on public transit or in other noisy situations. Beats are definitely not what you're looking for, unless you want a bunch of muddy bass disrupting the soundstage.

Dec 28, 2009 at 9:14 PM Post #5 of 34
I would say go for the SR225i or the Sennheiser.