Momentum II, DT 770, Sony, Oppo
Jun 1, 2015 at 11:14 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

BrockSamson

New Head-Fier
I'm trying to find a headphone setup that I can use at work. Possibly also on the train. I would be using a Macbook Pro 2014 or Nexus 5 as my source. I'd mostly listen to Spotify premium or Digitally Imported radio. I listen to EDM (lots of tech house), rock, epic (two steps from hell), and almost anything else in limited quantities except country music or pop music. I've been looking at...

Beyerdynamic DT 770 (80ohm or 250ohm)
Sennheiser Momentum II Over-Ear
Sony MDR-1A
Oppo PM-3
MEElectronics M6 PRO (IEM)

I started thinking about the DT 770 but realized that while they might be fine at work with a Modi/Magni stack I'd be mostly out of luck on the train when using my Nexus 5. The Momentum II should solve this issue but I feel like I'd still want to get an external DAC/AMP anyways to get a better output than what my phone could provide. I'm still new to the others and doing research on those when I have time. Then just now I found the M6 PRO which is a whole other story. I had the original M6 and liked them but now that I have the Sennheiser HD 598 at home for gaming I'm worried that the M6 PRO won't stack up to my expectations.

I figure I can spend up to $800 on an entire setup. Lower is better, the $50 M6 PRO is certainly appealing for that reason, but I don't mind spending to the upper end if it's worth it. I'm also not opposed to multiple components. Perhaps the M6 PRO for the train and a dedicated setup for work? Or is there a good portable DAC/AMP (either a single product or 2 separate products) that would let me drive some of these headphones effectively and with good quality? I probably won't leave anything at work so even if I get something dedicated I'd prefer it to not by too bulky or heavy.