Meelec M6, Brainwavs M4, or Soundmagic E30?
Mar 24, 2012 at 8:15 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

susanggongjja

New Head-Fier

Hi I am looking for the best headphones for under (or a little bit over) 30 dollars (Mee M6 for $18, Brainwavs M4 for $28, and Soundmagic E30 for $33 all at Amazon.)

How would you describe each of these sound signatures? Which one of these is the best for that price in terms of sound quality AND build quality?

I mainly listen to metal and rock.

Mar 25, 2012 at 12:22 AM Post #5 of 8
Disclaimer: I am no expert, and out of these three IEM's, have only heard the M4, and only recently at that.

That out of the way, my primary listening is classic rock, classical/instrumental (think pirates of the caribbean soundtrack), and piano-heavy rock, like Ben Folds. The M4 seems to be very well suited to rock. Most describe the sound as being in between a flat analytical sound and a V shaped signature with boosted treble and bass. They are a very good buy at the current $28 sale price on amazon. Guitars come through very nicely, and the bass is sufficiently punchy, though by my personal preference, I EQ more a V shape to it. There are at least a couple pretty extensive reviews on it, so to not parrot back everything those have said, I will just say that I highly recommend them for some incredible bang for the buck.

Mar 25, 2012 at 12:57 AM Post #6 of 8
I have only heard the M4 and M6.  M4 all the way with this comparison.  Much better highs and lows.  I don't remember what the M6 mids sounded like, but the M4s are still great quality here.  While the M6 could seem bloated and over-done, the M4s are controlled, but still powerful.  The M6 could have harsh highs at times that would smear and the M4s do no such thing (except they may have a hint of a metallic sibilance at times).

Mar 25, 2012 at 9:46 AM Post #7 of 8
Alright great! But how is the M4 durability wise? There is a one star review on Amazon stating that the durability is poor..