Mapletree, Yamamoto, or other
Aug 30, 2007 at 9:43 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 45

lousyreeds1

100+ Head-Fier
Hi all,

I'm converting my stereo into a nice headphone rig. My musical tastes aren't quite in line with those of my housemates, so it's time for something a little more private
smily_headphones1.gif

Once I sell of the stereo, I'm expecting to have about $1500 to play with on an amp and phones, maybe a tad more (I am fine with buying used when possible). I would LOVE to spend less, but I'm willing to blow it all on truly gorgeous headphone sound.

I'm new to this side of audiophilia, so I would really appreciate some advice from you all on headphones and a dedicated amp. My taste in sound is toward extreme immediacy, slight warmth with no brightness, and that palpable "you are there" sound that I've found only comes with tubes. So far I've come up with two potential combos:

Mapletree Ear+ HD2 and Grado RS-1
Yamamoto HD-A2 and AT-W1000.

What do you all think? Am I on the right track? My sources are a 4G Red Wine iMod and a Nottingham Horizon turntable. Any amp I buy must have two inputs.

Many thanks!

Aug 30, 2007 at 10:43 PM Post #3 of 45
Quote:

Originally Posted by augustwest /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I think that if you want "no brightness", Grado might not be the way to go?

- augustwest

One man's brightness is another's clarity.

OP, you could easily pick up a used RS1/mapletree inside your budget, and sell on for not much loss if it's not to your liking. It might help folks a little if you also mestion what type(s) of music you're into.

I can't comment directly on the MAD/RS1 combo, but hopefully will be able to do so in a month or two
biggrin.gif

Aug 30, 2007 at 10:51 PM Post #4 of 45