Loved the Klipsch S4, Is the Westone 4 a mistake?
Nov 28, 2011 at 2:36 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 3

Virtue94

New Head-Fier
So I'm pretty new to the hi-fi world and I've only had the Klipsch S4 for a few months but I think its time I move on to something better. I love the sound signature in general but I do wish there was more instrument separation and clarity to go along with that as well as an over ear fit so the darn things don't fall off. I listen to a variety of music like country, alternative, dubstep, classical, and pop so I also need something that does everything well. I've been eyeing the Westone 4/4R for a while now and was wondering if that was the logical step up so any advice or alternatives would be greatly appreciated. And on another note, do I need to amp the Westone 4 and if so, is a Fiio E6 enough or do I need something like my iBasso D6?

Nov 28, 2011 at 2:57 AM Post #2 of 3

Quote:
So I'm pretty new to the hi-fi world and I've only had the Klipsch S4 for a few months but I think its time I move on to something better. I love the sound signature in general but I do wish there was more instrument separation and clarity to go along with that as well as an over ear fit so the darn things don't fall off. I listen to a variety of music like country, alternative, dubstep, classical, and pop so I also need something that does everything well. I've been eyeing the Westone 4/4R for a while now and was wondering if that was the logical step up so any advice or alternatives would be greatly appreciated. And on another note, do I need to amp the Westone 4 and if so, is a Fiio E6 enough or do I need something like my iBasso D6?

AFAIK if you love the S4 signature, I think W3 would be closer to the S4 signature instead of W4.

Nov 28, 2011 at 12:21 PM Post #3 of 3

Quote:
AFAIK if you love the S4 signature, I think W3 would be closer to the S4 signature instead of W4.