Looking To Upgrade Portable Amp from Total Airhead
Feb 12, 2008 at 2:01 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

wharfrat1

100+ Head-Fier
I am still very new to the headphone scene, roughly 4 months. My ears and head have been loving every minute of it, my wife and wallet not so much.
I have been using the total airhead as my portable, but after spending far too much time reading here, I am looking to upgrade.

I listen to mainly rock, with a good bit of jazz, and some classical thrown in.
The amp will mainly be paired with my SE530's/80gbIpod for business trips and bedtime listening. I use 320 AAC and Apple lossless files(depends on the recording) I travel quite a bit for work. On longer, personal trips, I will also be packing my SR 325i's.

My main criteria in order of importance:
1. SQ- Obviously as a rock fan, I needs me some good tight, deep powerful bass, but I also like transparent highs and silky mids(need to have it all).
2. Portability-it's mainly for travel, so I don't want the thing to be a suitcase, it would be a good thing if I could mate it to my Ipod like the total airhead.

The rest is wide open, I really don't need a DAC since I don't use my work laptop for music and I've got my Headroom DAC at home. I can deal with a plastic case/not great looks etc. if the sound is there. Really, I'm just looking to take the next big step up soundwise. I've been reading around and the Voyager and RSA amps all sound worth investigating. I've got up to $400 to spend, and I don't mind spending it all if the upgrade in sound is worth it. I wanted to ask some more experienced ears, based on my usage, what a good fit would be.

Feb 12, 2008 at 11:39 AM Post #3 of 15