Looking for the perfect headphones for <$200 - HELP!
Nov 28, 2007 at 7:45 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 42

cyberidd

1000+ Head-Fier
Hi there, I'm new to buying nice headphones, but I want to do my research so I can get the best possible headphones for less than $200. I am looking for a pair of phones that have good highs, mids and, of course, bass, and that will sound good with an Ipod (I know, they don't sound very good as far as mp3 players go, but oh well.) Because I like to listen to music on the go, it would be great if they were efficient too. I am not interested in noise canceling features, and am not too concerned with shutting outside noise out, or keeping my music in either, for that matter. My taste in music is primarily classic rock, although I listen to almost everything, from rap, hiphop, r & b, to blues, bluegrass, country, classical, to metal and punk. Needless to say, very eclectic. Anyway, I was hoping that you guys could help me out with finding the right headphones, thanks.

Nov 28, 2007 at 9:00 AM Post #3 of 42
Only headphones? How sbout JBL 220 Reference canalphones?

Nov 28, 2007 at 9:09 AM Post #4 of 42
It's a good thing you don't care for noise canceling, noise isolation or noise leakage, and also will be using it ampless.

A Grado SR 225 fits right in the budget, even if you buy it new (that's if you're in the US).

You have other options like the HD 595, but the SR 225 is more portable and in my opinion, sounds better unamped.

Nov 28, 2007 at 9:12 AM Post #5 of 42
Quote:

Originally Posted by cyberidd /img/forum/go_quote.gif
...sound good with an Ipod ... I am not interested in noise canceling features, and am not too concerned with shutting outside noise out, or keeping my music in either, for that matter. My taste in music is primarily classic rock, although I listen to almost everything, from rap, hiphop, r & b, to blues, bluegrass, country, classical, to metal and punk.

Check out the ATH-ES7, MS1, HD25-1 (II), or PK2.