Looking for help choosing DAC
Feb 22, 2008 at 4:27 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

rpveld

Head-Fier
Hi all,

This is my first post and I am sorry it is a Question.
I am lurking here for some time now and I am trying to assemble a home set for use with my PC.
From reading here I think I already know what Headphones and Amp I am going to buy.
This will be the DT880 and LD MK III or IV.
Now the only thing I need will be a DAC. I don't really understand what a DAC does in combination with a Amp.
As the MK III is a tube amp, does this mean the DAC needs extra considerations or would any DAC do?
Would it be wiser to buy a SS Amp, like the MK V, in combination with a DAC.
Which DAC would do in my situation. (Budget around $250)

Also is the DT880 a good Headphone for listening to Blues? This is what I mainly listen to, but once in a while I also like to listen to some Rock.

As you may have noticed I am new at this, so any help would be mostly appreciated.

BTW , source is lossless, OS is XP Pro.
Thank You

Feb 22, 2008 at 10:04 PM Post #2 of 8
Hi,

Im not sure if I fully understand your question but a DAC is a digital to Analog converter. The headphone amp is exactly that, an amplifier for your headset.

I personally have a USB-DAC so that is I can take the music from my laptop and plug it into my stereo. It works excellent because almost my entire music collection is on my PC, so this is huge for me.

So basically, I guess that's the question you should ask yourself. I went with the FUBAR III because it has a USB Dac AND a headphone amp. If you have already decided on the amp you want, the Fubar II is just a USB DAC without the amp. Very affordable (in your price range) and I'd highly recommend the Firestone Audio line. I've been extremely impressed.

Hope that helps
AAF

Feb 22, 2008 at 10:23 PM Post #3 of 8
Thank you AlwaysAFan.

I am sorry if my question is not clear, English is not my native language so it is kind of difficult for me to express myself clearly.