Looking for an upgrade to my current ZST X's
Oct 13, 2023 at 4:19 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

candycane

New Head-Fier
Hello, I'm new to the IEM world (and the audiophile world in general) and I love my current (also my first) IEMs, the ZST X's. There's so much I like about these, the V shape is really pronounced, bass strong, punchy and rumbly, treble clear, detailed and shimmery, soundstaging is good, but I'm hoping to try out a different pair and there's some things that I think can be improved upon, and some things that bug me with some tracks.

For one, there's some bass bleed, and the lower mids (including deeper male vocals) lack clarity, get muddied and the separation isn't as good in that Hz range. The bass is beautiful, clear and rumbly on some tracks but on others it gets too boomy, and some guitars and male vocals get lost in the mix. Additionally, though the treble has a lot of clarity which is one of the shining aspects of this IEM for me, it can get peaky and fatiguing to listen to on louder volumes.

I'm hoping for something that gives the lower mids a bit more detail and separation without sacrificing too much bass, bass that is distinct, punchy and rumbly without being overly boomy or too much bleed, less fatiguing treble while still maintaining shimmer and clarity, and strong separation, soundstaging and imaging with good detail retrieval(this is very important to me; I don't want to sacrifice this). I also want it to be driveable from a decent modern mobile phone as I currently do not have a DAC/Amp and I don't have the budget for one right now (never actually really looked into DACs/amps much so I can't say whether I'd see any improvement with these, as they are already very easy to drive.) I'm willing to spend a little more, but I'd like it to stay under the 50 USD range. A slightly less pronounced v-shape but still in that range, because that's always been my favorite signature.