Looking for a closed headphone for under $400ish
Jun 16, 2013 at 3:00 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

JBal4

100+ Head-Fier
Hi a have several sets of decent open and semi-open headphones but am now looking to get a pair of closed headphones.  My other pairs include AKG K240mkii, Sen. HD598, V-Moda Crossfade LP, and Parrot Zik.  The amp/dac setup I am using is the E17+E09K combo by Fiio, and I listen to all sorts of music form classical to dubstep.  I am looking for a pair that has clear mids and highs but also plenty of deep solid bass that does not bleed into or take away from the rest of the sound.

I am currently looking at AKG K550, Denon D600, V-Moda M-100, Shure 940, and AudioTechnica M-50 

I have heard that the bass in the k550 is there but does not have very much impact, and has issues with the seal.  I have am also worried that the M100 would be to similar to the crosfade lp, which the bass seems to take from most of the rest of the sound. 

I have no experience with any of these so any opinions would be extremely helpful.
L3000.gif
Thanks
L3000.gif

Jun 16, 2013 at 3:06 PM Post #2 of 6
The new Denons are not up to the standard set by the previous gen. I'd recommend going for a pair of D5000 or D7000 over the D600. Otherwise, I am a huge fan of the M-100, but I listen to almost exclusively EDM so my preference maybe diff from yours. 
http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/innerfidelitys-wall-fame-full-size-sealed check out their wall of fame, the K550 has been surpassed by several newer headsets already. 

Jun 16, 2013 at 3:10 PM Post #4 of 6
Very smooth and fast, and less emphasized vs the LP2 (8db vs 10+db).  You should just try to listen to them yourself at a local store, everyone has diff preferences. The M100 are imho as good as it gets for contemporary genres, for other genres... not so much. :p 

Jun 16, 2013 at 3:21 PM Post #5 of 6