Little bear Chinese tube amp (P-1) Cracking/Hissing
Jul 8, 2013 at 12:51 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

Lefoobar

New Head-Fier
Hi Guys,

First time posting something here but I browse the forums almost everyday. I'll try to be as detailed as possible with my issue.

I recently purchased a small Tube Amp from Ebay. Unfortunately I'm having problems with the audio as suggested in the title. I get a variation of crackling, popping and scratching/hissing sounds coming out of the headphones, regardless of whether the volume is off or on. I've changed various outputs/inputs and re-seated the tube to try and fix the problem but to no avail. Also, it's probably worth mentioning that I'm a novice at electronics so the chances of me replacing internal parts of the amp are pretty slim. 

Any ideas on what this problem could be? If you need more info let me know. I'll post pics if needed. 

(here is the link if anyone is interested: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Compatible-6Nxx-12xxx-6N11-12AU7-series-Tube-DIY-HiFI-Headphone-Amplifier-AMP-/120873666519?pt=US_Home_Audio_Amplifiers_Preamps&hash=item1c24a1c7d7)

Thanks!
- Lefoo

Jul 8, 2013 at 6:58 PM Post #2 of 9
Also try posting this question on the website Rockgrotto, some of the people on that forum like to tinker/modifiy with those amps.
so they have some good knowledge on them.

You might try getting a digital multi-meter (the DT830 sells for around $7) and try balancing and fine tuning the two voltage channels.

Jul 8, 2013 at 7:43 PM Post #3 of 9
Rockgrotto forum is offline, not sure when it will be back online. 

Jul 8, 2013 at 11:19 PM Post #4 of 9
Someone sold one on ebay today complaining about hum also in their advert, I find the volume pot is occasionally scratchy on these duing use but hum is down to tube / how they are connected / positioned. They are an interesting little amp that normally sells for cheaper than the one mentioned in the first sentence!

Jul 8, 2013 at 11:40 PM Post #5 of 9