Klipsch Image initial impressions and microphonics... eww...
Sep 6, 2008 at 2:55 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

heavyharmonies

100+ Head-Fier
I'm new to the world of IEMs. I bought 2 Sansa Fuze mp3 players for my daily walking routines (1 Fuze to keep at my office and 1 for at home). I bought a pair of Atrio M5s for the home Fuze, and after upgrading from the included flanges to Shure olives, I was quite pleased with the sound.

So once budget permitted, I decided to buy a good set of IEMs for the office Fuze. Rather than being boring and simply getting another M5, I decided to get a different set to compare. I did some reading here, and it came down to the Sleek A6 vs. the Klipsch Image. I opted for the latter.

I've only had the Images for about 3 days. While the medium gels are comfortable, they seem to work themselves out of my ears over the course of time. Compared to the M5s thus far, I'm giving them a resounding "meh." Bass is not nearly as impactful as the M5. Of course I haven't A-Bed them side by side, and I've not tried olives on the Klipsch yet.

The microphonics on the Klipsch are driving me insane. As I walk it sounds like there's a perpetual wind blowing, in conjunction with my stride. When the music is loud, I don't hear it, but during soft or medium passages, it's QUITE noticeable.

Contrast with the M5, which have ZERO microphonics.

Thus far I'm underwhelmed, especially considering the Klipsch cost $40 more than the M5.

Suggestions?

Sep 6, 2008 at 3:35 AM Post #2 of 16
give em to me
biggrin.gif

but seriously folks... some guys are using a clip to help with the microphonics. it's unfortunate they didn't design them to be over the ear.. would've made a huge difference.

I'm surprised you're not experiencing the same kind of joy with the bass as so many others are though.. from what i've been reading, they're the best of the bunch. not so? poor seal maybe?

Sep 6, 2008 at 3:43 AM Post #3 of 16