K701 vs. CD3000
Jun 5, 2006 at 5:54 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

Alu

Headphoneus Supremus
I'm still pretty new to the headphone world, at least I'd think so, with having the K701 for only about a month and a half, and the CD3000 only for a few days, but I wanted to share my impressions of both headphones, since I've been listening a lot to the CD3000 at least during the last few days.
The K701 is very well burnt in with about 400+ hours, and the CD3000 had a previous owner, but they where his secondary pair.

I'm using the Bel Canto DAC 2 as source, not one of the best, but a very decent one imho, with the Denon DVD-2910 as transport, and the Corda Aria as my headphone amplifier.

Do note that this won't be a very well structured review, as often seen on this website, I'll just write as much information down as I can, since I also lack the necessary vocabulary in order to share what I'm hearing.
I listen to a huge variety of genres: Metal, Rock, Classical, Jazz, some Electronic and Soundtracks in general. I'll only mention a few though.

- Rock/Metal

K701: This certainly is a headphone that can handle these genres. However with bands like Metallica or Slayer there is something that is missing, the necessary "punch" so to say. I can't really get involved with this headphone like I can with the HF-1 for instance, which is a rather "fun" headphone and which actually allows you to really feel this type of music with most tracks. I'd say that the K701 is too neutral here at times, it lacks a tad bit on the lower end, a very deciding bit for me, especially compared to the CD3000. The great soundstage is an advantage with progressive rock here, Dream Theater or Pink Floyd come to mind, also Tool has a lot of fitting tracks.