Just received my DT-770/80 Pro's - not completely satisfied
Oct 7, 2009 at 12:21 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

Cal

Head-Fier
These are my first "high-end" set of headphones. Up until now I've been using the supplied Apple earphones.

I eagerly plugged these into my computer expecting to hear a world of a difference and I am left unsatisfied and wanting more, to say the least. I can honestly say that I prefer the Apple earphones with my computer at the moment. However, I plugged the DT-770/80 Pro's into my iPhone 3G and noticed an immediate improvement over my Apple earphones. Now I can't take them off.

I'm no audio expert, so it's hard for me to describe what's "missing" when I plug these cans into my computer, but I can tell you that they're not living up to my expectations - which weren't all that high to begin with as I didn't know what to expect, these being my first "nice" headphones. The headphones themselves are fine because they sound great with my iPhone 3G.

I am running Realtek High Definition Audio (per the Device Manager) and using iTunes 9.0 to play my music (bit rates range from 256-320kbps if that makes a difference). I've been playing with the equalizer for the past 30 minutes and currently have it set on Live (from what I can see, I cannot customize the equalizer, only use the preset ones - pop, rock, live, jazz, treble, bass, etc.).

Suggestions?

Oct 7, 2009 at 12:32 AM Post #2 of 14
The DT770/80 are very demanding headphones. They pretty much *need* an amp to unleash their full potential.

One reviewer did a test on his iPod with multiple headphones, including HD650 and PX100. This reviewer stated the PX100 sounded leaps-and-bounds better than the HD650, due to the HD650 not having an amp.

I think regardless how you use your headphones, they will *highly* benefit from an amp. You won't believe how much they transform!
biggrin.gif

Oct 7, 2009 at 12:50 AM Post #3 of 14
Quote:

Originally Posted by Katun /img/forum/go_quote.gif