Is this what I should buy????
Oct 24, 2002 at 8:44 PM Post #3 of 13
I love the HD590. Some, however, find them too bright. But what they call bright I call detailed. It's all a matter of personal taste.

Anyways if that's the sound you're looking then go for it. They can be driven without an amp (though sound better with one) and are EXTREMELY comfortable.

Oct 24, 2002 at 8:51 PM Post #4 of 13
Quote:

Originally posted by andrzejpw
if the 590s are what you want, then yes, you'd be ok going with ubid. Some people have had bad experiences with them, however.

What do you mean by bad experiences?

Also, I don't quite understand what you mean when you say bright, I'm sorry I'm a bit of a noob.
smily_headphones1.gif
thanks for the help.

Oct 24, 2002 at 9:09 PM Post #5 of 13
Well, I remember a few months ago, there were a lot of people who bought 580s on ubid. Basically, some of them recieved what appeared to be brand new, packaged stuff, while others recieved boxes in really bad shape, scuffed phones, etc.

What he means by bright is that the high frequencys really have an "edge" to them, sometimes to the point of being above the rest.

Oct 24, 2002 at 9:39 PM Post #6 of 13
I have no problem with refurbished goods if they are in good shape. I bought my monitor (21" Sony Trinitron) Refurbished several years ago for $270. I guess that may make me a little biased though. But feneral, people who make a habit of selling refurished stuff have to make sure the products are in good shape or they'll get a bad name fast.

Geist, I'm looking at the 590's as a candidate, what can you tell me about them? How well should they work from a good source with no dedicated amp? How are they for lots of different music with an emphasis on rock and electronic? Do they have good sound stage and placment? (Pretty important to me.) Thanks for any input.

Oct 24, 2002 at 9:47 PM Post #7 of 13
I suggest checking out these URL's