Is there any chance that CDs won't go away?
Dec 28, 2016 at 8:55 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

Grado Diesel

100+ Head-Fier
I'm relatively new to the audiophile world. I just got my FIIO X3II earlier this year, a Schiit Vali2 and a pair of HIFIMAN HE-400i's about a month ago. However I've always been an avid music collector and have a massive collection of rocknroll, funk, jazz, blues, country etc mostly in CD form and some vinyls. I hate to see this format disappear. iTunes is great but is definitely geared more towards millennials who don't mind having their music owned and controlled by a company and just want instant gratification on their phones. The hi res music sites are a whole other ball game and I've got respect for them but there is something about having a tangible recording of music that just doesn't exist anywhere else other than with CDs, vinyls, cassettes and reel to reels. I hope some music fans realize this before CDs get phased out.

Dec 29, 2016 at 6:58 AM Post #2 of 4
I don't think there's much chance in the long term. With the ever-increasing availability of high quality digital downloads and streaming, CDs don't offer anything over and above that. I have a large CD collection myself, but I've ripped them all to files and very rarely play the actual CD in a player. Vinyl is the one physical medium I expect to outlast all others. Technically, it's inferior but offers a different experience that a lot of people like and more importantly, most dance music singles + EPs still come out on vinyl first, with a digital release following maybe a month later. I would almost say CD is a dead format already but rarer CDs do still command a premium on places like Discogs Marketplace, so there's obviously still a market for now, though I suspect it's a generational thing; I can't imagine many people under the age of 30 buying CDs.

Dec 29, 2016 at 8:56 AM Post #3 of 4