Ipod for windows
Nov 15, 2001 at 3:10 PM Post #2 of 18
Oh oh... are those the Apple lawyers I hear in the background, just waiting for this little piece of software to surface?
wink.gif

Nov 15, 2001 at 7:06 PM Post #4 of 18
A few comments.

1. Apple would be nuts to sue anyone who came out with software that easily increases their potential market for the iPod by 20X. More likely, (and I'm no business expert, so take this with a grain of salt) they would purchase the software if it was good or ignore it if it wasn't.

2. If I was exclusively a Windows user, I would probably wait until Apple released iTunes for Windows rather than going with the xPod software. iTunes 2 is easily the best software out there for any platform when it comes to ripping, mixing, organizing, and burning music. I don't mean from a technical perspective, in which case it's probably debateable; I mean from a user interface perspective. iTunes rules for that reason, and its tight integration with the iPod is even more reason to wait for Apple's solution than to jump on the first third-party solution that comes along.

3. Apple would be nuts not to come out with a Windows flavor of iTunes for use with the iPod. As I pointed out in #1, it would open up the potential market for iPods to 20X the current market.

Russ "The Peripatetic Audiophile"

Nov 15, 2001 at 7:41 PM Post #5 of 18
1. Dude. Apple would be nuts not to sue about this... if they buy it, which is highly unlikely, they will never release it. Most likely they already have a version of iTunes or something to transfer to the iPod on windows, and they don't WANT to release it. Apple created the iPod not to sell iPods, but to sell Macs.

2. Same reason as above. iTunes, which is free, exists for Macs and to sell Macs. They will never release a Windows version. Never going to happen, ever.

3. Same reasons as above.

Nov 15, 2001 at 8:20 PM Post #6 of 18