Ipod 5.5G with Rockbox vs Iphone 5s Sound Quality?
May 10, 2015 at 8:31 AM Post #2 of 3
Bump....   Yeah, I've had this exact question recently as well!!!

Just bought a 30Gb iPod 5.5G on eBay, as I was having difficulty installing RockBox on my 6G 160Gb classic due to its CE-ATA drive. So, I'll report back when I get my new iPod, RockBox it, and have some time to listen to them both.

May 17, 2015 at 4:20 PM Post #3 of 3
So... Let me start off by saying that I am by no means an audiophile, and this is my first opinion/review type post. So, take it easy on me... I have been a musician and around music since childhood. So, I know what good music sounds like, and the natural intonation and timber of many instruments and voices...

First off let me say that these are very close tonally. So, at a first quick listen, after equalizing the volume output from both sources using a 440Hz sine wave pure tone and a SPL meter, it is difficult to distinguish between the two. (Unlike the 6th Gen Classic, which is easily distinguishable, and sounds terrible in comparison!) However, after a bit more time and some critical listening, you can begin to decipher slight nuances between the two.

Overall I would say that the sound from the 5.5 Gen iPod is "natural" and "full". Where as the sound from the 5s feels slightly "narrow", "compressed", and "forward".

So, if I was pressed to say which one I like better, I'd have to say I'd probably pick the 5.5 Gen iPod.