Ipod 3rd Generation with 4 buttons
Jul 7, 2007 at 8:34 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

Bisco82

100+ Head-Fier
How good was the Ipod that had the click wheel with the four buttons on top of it? I just accidentally recieved one in the mail (I was supposed to get a first generation model instead). I am debating whether I should just return it or if I should keep it. I have no experience with this model, and would like some insights on what you all think or thought of it.

Thanks!

Jul 7, 2007 at 10:39 PM Post #3 of 12
Swings and roundabouts. Amped fidelity is pretty good, arguably better than current iPods, but unamped SQ is influenced by a noticeable reduction in bass due to the 'fall-off' and there are a number of codec tics on the 3rd gen iPod... in MP3 certainly, and perhaps with other codecs too. Battery life is not so hot too.

Personally I didn't like the controls that much, although of course it was better than anything else on the market at the time bar the Karma. Liked the actual click wheel of the 4th Gen + a lot better.

Jul 11, 2007 at 5:45 AM Post #4 of 12
I think im going to send it back. Thanks for the comments guys, I appreciate them! Anyone think its worth keeping for $150?

Jul 11, 2007 at 3:03 PM Post #5 of 12
I could see the argument that 1g ipod - the original ipod - would be worth that much, for its legendary status and the coolness of mechanical wheel (damn i miss it), but the ipod with the glowing buttons otoh i wouldn't take for anything over $50. I had it for a while and really thought it sucked for aforementioned reasons plus the low responsiveness and counterintuitive behavior of the buttons, including the screwy middle button.

Jul 12, 2007 at 5:30 PM Post #6 of 12
The first iPod with a docking port, and I think the first "agnostic" iPod ... probably better in several ways than my second generation iPod "for Windows," but Apple hadn't put it together yet (insert caustic or highly supportive comments here, LOL).