Interferences with cMoy
Jan 9, 2009 at 4:35 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 1

LeChucksBeard

New Head-Fier
Hello,

I'm wondering if anyone would have an idea of where this issue is coming from. Now, this might not have anything to do with the cMoy itelf, but perhaps someone knowing more than I do about electronics will be able to tell.

I have a cMoy v2.00 with bass boost (boost on or off makes little difference) from JSeaber. It is connected to one of those nifty cable DACs (mini USB sound card), which is connected to a USB port on my MacBook. The cMoy is powered using a DC adapter. With it I use a Sennheiser HD595.

I have been using this configuration successfully for several months.

I recently had to relocate my stuff to another bedroom and hadn't used the headset for a while and noticed a problem just yesterday. There is some noise/static/buzzing (not sure how to describe it) coming through the headphones.

BUT, here's the funny thing, as soon as the thermostat on my oil-filled heater decided to turn the heater on, the buzzing almost stopped! (still there but much lower) That was very strange so I did some testing but couldn't really pinpoint the issue. Looks like a mix of things.

My computer stuff, including the cMoy's power supply, is connected onto a power strip, which is connected to a double-socket (with ground) on the wall. On the second socket of that doubler, there's the heater.

If I unplug the heater completely, the buzzing gets very faint. If I plug the heater back it but the heater is *off*, buzzing becomes pretty loud, but then if I turn on the heater, buzzing stops, or I can't hear it anyway. So it seems that there is some interference coming from somewhere, that gets louder when the heater is plugged but off, and almost disappears when the heater is on.