In a pickle: V-Moda M-80s
Jan 11, 2013 at 6:50 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

DanBrown89

New Head-Fier
Evening one and all. Having perused these forums on a fairly regular basis, I thought it was about time to make an account.

Anyway, as I'm a rank amateur and the majority of you guy have more knowledge than me in your little fingers alone, I was wondering if I might be able to get some advice.

I shall soon be the proud owner of some V-Moda M-80s, which I'll be receiving as a gift (assuming my parents aren't playing a cruel trick on me). They will be my first venture into (relatively speaking, >£60) high-end headphones. I chose the M-80s because I wanted something fairly portable, built to last, and with great sound quality - and they have some outstanding reviews both on here and elsewhere on t'Internet (with the added bonus of being sexy as hell). However, I currently have no decent source. My iPod Touch decided to kick the bucket last week, my phone is what you might call 'basic', which leaves me with a 3rd gen iPod Nano I found in my underwear drawer.
Now, considering I'm a student, and therefore pretty much broke, I figure I have three options:
1. Buy a new DAP.
2. Buy a portable amp (The FiiO E7 and E11 seem quite popular).
3. Stick it out for 6 months until I can upgrade my phone (Samsung GSIII is top of my list, for which Voodoo Sound will hopefully be available).

#1 Seems daft, as I'll be getting a new phone in the summer regardless. Unless there is a device that would outperform #2 and #3 in the long run, that is a reasonable price... which seems unlikely.
#2 As I said, this is my first venture into decent gear, so amps/DACs are uncharted territory for me. Would either of the aforementioned FiiOs (or any other make/model for that matter) make a noticeable difference with the Nano and, when I get it, the SGSIII? I've read that the M-80s are perfectly good 'phones unamped, but I'd be willing to splash a bit of cash if it's worth it.