Im sorry if this has been asked before..
May 7, 2007 at 1:52 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

djdanp

New Head-Fier
^^ Yeah Im new to this world, but always have been anal bout my sound quality. (DJ using big speaker systems=you can tell the difference) But now I want to get some nice headphones. I listen to mainly electronic genres.. Trance, Minimal, House, Electro House, some drum and bass, and some Progressive. Im deciding between these:

The grado sr60 vs the sr80s
The MS-1's
and the Audio technica ATH-SJ5's
Maybe Audio-Technica ATH A500
And any other of your ideas

Which ones are really the best bang for the buck? And please give your reasons. I love crisp highs, and very punchy bass

May 7, 2007 at 1:56 AM Post #2 of 13
Although I have never heard an MS phone, I can tell you that many people think that the MS-1's are closer sounding to sr125's rather than sr80's, making them a great value. As for punchy bass, that means different things to different people. Grado's have very tight, clean bass, but not necessarily a lot of bass.

Hope I've helped : p

May 7, 2007 at 1:58 AM Post #3 of 13
Quote:

Originally Posted by Brian_the_King /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Although I have never heard an MS phone, I can tell you that many people think that the MS-1's are closer sounding to sr125's rather than sr80's, making them a great value. As for punchy bass, that means different things to different people. Grado's have very tight, clean bass, but not necessarily a lot of bass.

Hope I've helped : p

Yeah man that helped me alot, thats what I ment. I love tight and clean bass, not dirty walmart 19$ sub sounding lows.

May 7, 2007 at 2:56 AM Post #4 of 13
I'd have to put in an X2 for the MS-1. The realistic bass and crisp highs are what they're all about. They are somewhat more neutral sounding than the average Grado and perhaps a bit more suitable for a wider range of music styles.