iFi Audio Pro iDSD discussion thread
Jan 17, 2018 at 2:04 PM Post #1,906 of 2,989
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Posts
10,360
Likes
6,279
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
There's a clue in this picture:

1.png.62ac2d1c11182520d80f51c2c9ec88a9.png


Digital filtering only applies to PCM. DSD is always bit perfect.

Why would you think there is no benefit to 24/96 over 16/44.1? Both can be remastered to DSD512 or DSD1024. It's like the difference between trying to polish a rock and trying to polish a turd. Starting with 24/192 will give a smoother final result.

Fast as per usual. Do you ever sleep? :sleeping:
 
iFi audio Stay updated on iFi audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/iFiAudio/ https://twitter.com/ifiaudio https://www.instagram.com/ifiaudio/ https://ifi-audio.com/ info@ifi-audio.com
Jan 17, 2018 at 8:01 PM Post #1,907 of 2,989

kj510

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 3, 2016
Posts
23
Likes
11
Hi iFi Audio,

I have 2 questions about the IR remote function of iDSD Pro.

1) What can we do with the remote? Only Volume Up/Down like iCan Pro?

2) Do iCan Pro and iDSD Pro remote influence each other? I mean if I turn volume Up, then iDSD Pro also reacts volume up? I have iCan Pro and if I add iDSD Pro, I thought the remote could affect both volumes...

Thank you,
 
Last edited:
Jan 17, 2018 at 9:54 PM Post #1,908 of 2,989

Trogdor

Reviewer: Metal-Fi
Joined
Feb 1, 2004
Posts
4,141
Likes
419
2) Do iCan Pro and iDSD Pro remote influence each other? I mean if I turn volume Up, then iDSD Pro also reacts volume up? I have iCan Pro and if I add iDSD Pro, I thought the remote could affect both volumes...

The volume knob has nothing to do with the line-level output from a DAC to the amp. This is universally true.

The volume knob for the iDSD Pro would effect the internal amp built into it, not the iCan Pro's amp stage. I'm not iFi Audio but it HAS to work this way.

You can try this out for yourself: Take the micro iDSD and turn the volume knob up and down while it is connected to a separate amp. It has no effect. DAC's produce line-level output PERIOD. Amps will, well, amplify it.

Does that make sense to you?
 
Jan 17, 2018 at 10:07 PM Post #1,909 of 2,989

hamachan

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 14, 2016
Posts
122
Likes
53
The volume knob has nothing to do with the line-level output from a DAC to the amp. This is universally true.

The volume knob for the iDSD Pro would effect the internal amp built into it, not the iCan Pro's amp stage. I'm not iFi Audio but it HAS to work this way.

You can try this out for yourself: Take the micro iDSD and turn the volume knob up and down while it is connected to a separate amp. It has no effect. DAC's produce line-level output PERIOD. Amps will, well, amplify it.

Does that make sense to you?
Well, you should understand why kj510 is asking about it because iFi products (DAC/Amps) are not consistent about line out functionality about volume control. For example of my inventry of iFi products regarding RCA line out;

pro iCAN: volume dependent
micro iDAC2: fixed volume
nano iDSD (original silver version):volume dependent

I read some reviews that nano iDSD BL (black version) is changed to fixed volume for the line out.
 
Jan 18, 2018 at 3:57 AM Post #1,910 of 2,989

Katie88

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Posts
39
Likes
22
Location
London
The volume knob has nothing to do with the line-level output from a DAC to the amp. This is universally true.

The volume knob for the iDSD Pro would effect the internal amp built into it, not the iCan Pro's amp stage. I'm not iFi Audio but it HAS to work this way.

You can try this out for yourself: Take the micro iDSD and turn the volume knob up and down while it is connected to a separate amp. It has no effect. DAC's produce line-level output PERIOD. Amps will, well, amplify it.

Does that make sense to you?

Actually the micro iDSD has a switch on the bottom to toggle between ‘direct’ and ‘preamp’. If the latter is selected, the volume will change.
 
Jan 19, 2018 at 11:20 AM Post #1,912 of 2,989

Sev Bordas

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Posts
24
Likes
5
Location
California
Hello @iFi audio !

This post is for questions about the MQA implementation in the iDSD Pro. Please refer to this article for context:

"We discovered that prior to applying the MQA firmware update earlier this year, MQA had recommended that we adopt using MQA up-sampling for all content in order to eliminate possible issues with click or pop noises when switching between non-MQA and MQA content. After some discussion with Alan at MQA about this, he had the following comment: 'The MQA decoder provides an optional up-sampler for PCM to simplify implementation and to enable a smooth, clean, click-free user experience. The reason this is offered is that the implementer may not know if the incoming stream is MQA and so the decoder is used to detect MQA and to provide a seamless switch to the usually higher output rate. By using Upsample Always, the user-experience is guaranteed to be accurate from the first sample of an MQA song and also to be free of clicks and pops if the user skips within a song or if there are cross-fades between songs.'

I own a iDSD Nano BL, and the constant upsampling seem to be engaged there (had to flash non-MQA firmware to restore functionality of the sample rate LED color indicator).

My first question is, how does MQA affect the remastering and filter modes available on the iDSD Pro?

My second question is, has iFi considered offering a non-MQA version of the iDSD Pro so that A) buyers don't have to worry about possibly compromised performance and B) buyers are not forced to pay MQA due to the licensing costs that iFI has to pass on to consumers?

Looking forward to a release date announcement for the iDSD Pro!
 
Jan 19, 2018 at 2:29 PM Post #1,913 of 2,989
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Posts
10,360
Likes
6,279
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
Hi iFi Audio,

I have 2 questions about the IR remote function of iDSD Pro.

1) What can we do with the remote? Only Volume Up/Down like iCan Pro?

2) Do iCan Pro and iDSD Pro remote influence each other? I mean if I turn volume Up, then iDSD Pro also reacts volume up? I have iCan Pro and if I add iDSD Pro, I thought the remote could affect both volumes...

Thank you,

Yes, the remote is the same for both devices and yes, it will control both of their volume controls, IF these are enabled.

Of course there's no point in having two volume controls active. Simply set Pro iDSD to fixed line-out (HiFi). Then the signal bypasees completely its volume control module and Pro iCAN's volume control can be used instead.

This post is for questions about the MQA implementation in the iDSD Pro. Please refer to this article for context:

We don't comment other peoples' work, that's one of our principles.

I own a iDSD Nano BL, and the constant upsampling seem to be engaged there (had to flash non-MQA firmware to restore functionality of the sample rate LED color indicator).

In case of nano iDSD BL, the MQA beta firmware currently upsamples non-MQA streams to 8x PCM via a filter of our specification.

My first question is, how does MQA affect the remastering and filter modes available on the iDSD Pro?

In case of Pro iDSD, anything non-MQA will not pass through MQA upsampling and that's it.

My second question is, has iFi considered offering a non-MQA version of the iDSD Pro so that A) buyers don't have to worry about possibly compromised performance and B) buyers are not forced to pay MQA due to the licensing costs that iFI has to pass on to consumers?

No, we don't consider it. If one doesn't like MQA, s/he shouldn't use it.

Looking forward to a release date announcement for the iDSD Pro!

It's been known for a good while now:

https://www.head-fi.org/threads/ifi-audio-pro-idsd-the-official-thread.869144/
 
Last edited:
iFi audio Stay updated on iFi audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/iFiAudio/ https://twitter.com/ifiaudio https://www.instagram.com/ifiaudio/ https://ifi-audio.com/ info@ifi-audio.com
Jan 19, 2018 at 2:38 PM Post #1,914 of 2,989

Katie88

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Posts
39
Likes
22
Location
London
Yes, the remote is the same for both devices and yes, it will control both of their volume controls, IF these are enabled.

Of course there's no point in having two volume controls active. Simply set Pro iDSD to fixed line-out (HiFi). Then the signal bypasees completely its volume control module and Pro iCAN's volume control can be used instead.

That’s good. Would the volume pot be spinning around all the same, albeit redundantly?
 
Jan 19, 2018 at 2:42 PM Post #1,915 of 2,989
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Posts
10,360
Likes
6,279
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
That’s good. Would the volume pot be spinning around all the same, albeit redundantly?

It rotates from point A to B, just like the one in Pro iCAN, not endlessly. Input selector on the former is endless, though.
 
iFi audio Stay updated on iFi audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/iFiAudio/ https://twitter.com/ifiaudio https://www.instagram.com/ifiaudio/ https://ifi-audio.com/ info@ifi-audio.com
Jan 19, 2018 at 3:57 PM Post #1,916 of 2,989

Sev Bordas

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Posts
24
Likes
5
Location
California
In case of nano iDSD BL, the MQA beta firmware currently upsamples non-MQA streams to 8x PCM via a filter of our specification.



In case of Pro iDSD, anything non-MQA will not pass through MQA upsampling and that's it.

Thank you for the prompt response. There has been much credible discussion lately about the quality of MQA's filters. I just wanted to make sure that those possibly inferior filters do not compromise your new flagship in any way.
 
Jan 19, 2018 at 4:11 PM Post #1,917 of 2,989

despinos

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 6, 2013
Posts
42
Likes
15
Hello,
Will there be an app to browse music associated to the streaming bridge capability? I’m thinking about something similar to the lightning app of Auralic Aries.
How does the rj4t input compares to AOIP tech (e.g Dante)?
Thanks
DAVID
 
Jan 20, 2018 at 5:05 PM Post #1,918 of 2,989
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Posts
10,360
Likes
6,279
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
Hello,
Will there be an app to browse music associated to the streaming bridge capability? I’m thinking about something similar to the lightning app of Auralic Aries.
How does the rj4t input compares to AOIP tech (e.g Dante)?
Thanks
DAVID

Please search Muzo app, accessible on both Apple and Android platforms.
 
iFi audio Stay updated on iFi audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/iFiAudio/ https://twitter.com/ifiaudio https://www.instagram.com/ifiaudio/ https://ifi-audio.com/ info@ifi-audio.com
Jan 20, 2018 at 5:08 PM Post #1,919 of 2,989
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Posts
10,360
Likes
6,279
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
GE5670 reserved for flagship AMR and iFi
Press release

We have some mixed news for lovers of the GE5670.

It is our understanding that we have tracked down and acquired the last known large-scale stockpile of GE5670 tubes.



The good news is that we have amassed a respectable inventory for AMR to use in their machines and for iFi to use in their flagship ‘Pro’ series for the foreseeable future (read: years).

The bad news is that once units in the supply chain of iTUBE2s and NOS6922s are all gone, there will be no more. The recent rise in the price of the GE5670 makes it even more the right decision to not continue with using the GE5670 in this product. Given that we need to reserve 2 pcs of the GE5670 for each Pro iDSD and Pro iCAN and for the AMR 777 machines too, priority must be given to these flagship products.

History of the venerable GE5670

For those wishing to delve into the history of the GE5670 and why we chose it over its ‘lesser’ cousin the 6922:

https://ifi-audio.com/portfolio-view/accessory-nos-6922-2/
 
iFi audio Stay updated on iFi audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/iFiAudio/ https://twitter.com/ifiaudio https://www.instagram.com/ifiaudio/ https://ifi-audio.com/ info@ifi-audio.com

Users who are viewing this thread

Top