IEM - PFE? TF10p? H-amp - Fiio E5? uDAC? Recommendations/Advice?
Apr 7, 2010 at 2:24 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

junien

New Head-Fier
Hi head-fi-ers, been following many threads here recently but would appreciate it if a few old hands can give me some advice on headphones and purchases.

First up, my current (pathetic complete beginner) set-up

Portable: Creative Zen Stone Plus => Soundmagic PL30 (i run and gym)

Home: Dell Studio XPS 1640 => iTunes (entire library), Media Monkey (FLAC) => Soundmagic PL30 & £30 altec lansing 2.0 speakers

Looking for, in the following order, descending priority:

1. IEM (budget £100 - £150) Based on research, considering factors: Over-ear, Detail & Precision, Unmuddy Bass, TOP 3 Music: Radiohead, Blink-182, Alternative

a) PHONAK PFE 112 (somebody enlighten me on diff btwn v1 vs v2)
b) UE Tripfi 10 pro (stretching budget abit, so, any recommendations on where to get it cheap? cheapest online so far is ebay, ship from the states for around £170)
c) any similar recommendations? How does UE SF5 Pro vs UE SF5v2 vs audeo PFE? is the imitation/fake scene as strong in all these IEMs as lets say the CX-300II?

2. Over/on-ears. thinking Koss Portapros. Any alternatives at the £20 range? Back-up cans, must be comfy.

3. Portable Headphone amp. Probably a Fiio E5 (with L1 LOD in future if i get an Ipod) for outdoor usage. Alternatives?

4. DAC-Headamp. £100 DAC-headamp for my laptop. Any recommendations? I really fancy the Nuforce uDAC but would consider any alternatives (iBasso? Pico? others?). One question I find unsatisfactorily answered in many threads are the ability of DAC-Headamps like the uDAC to amp 2.1 speakers or my current 2.0. (I intend to upgrade to some decent 2.1 systems in future. H/K Soundsticks II probably)