IEM for ~$60?
Aug 11, 2013 at 10:20 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

TooLazy

Head-Fier
After lurking here for while in search of a new IEM I finally decided to register, since I'm still unsure what to get.
I'm no expert at describing the sound I'm looking for, but I enjoy a fairly balanced one. Bass is important, but I'd go for fast and punchy over large and bloated. I'd use it to listen to various genres, with a focus on (heavier) rock/ metal and acoustic music, but also including classical and some electronic. This, of course, means that I'd like a versatile IEM. (EDIT: I seem to have left this out, but fairly good instrument separation would be nice.)
As far as design is concerned, I really prefer wearing them over-the-ear to straight down. Also, decent isolation is a must, but nothing extreme is necessary.
The source would be an iPod Touch for the time being, but that might change in the near future.

The one's I've looked at the most are thre VSonic VSD1(S) and the Zero Audio Carbo Tenore, the latter one being harder to acquire.

Can anyone give me some advice?

Aug 11, 2013 at 10:18 PM Post #3 of 11
Ive heard of some common ones in this price category such as sennheiser cx300s and klipsch s4s.But the brainwavz m2 is in this price range right now on amazon and they are very very good for the price in my opinion. I dont know a lot about the  v sonics you speak of but i know that the gro7s are FABULOUS and if the vsd1s have that price/ performance ratio, then you should put that at the top of your list.
Hope this was helpful
Nusho

Aug 12, 2013 at 7:19 AM Post #4 of 11
Quote: