Icon HDP + Icon Amp or Icon-2?
Mar 18, 2011 at 3:03 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 2

phishneslo

New Head-Fier
long time lurker's first post:

hi head-fi!

the title is the question.  i am somewhat new to the headphone world, and it came as the result of getting married and having to share my space with someone who doesn't like loud noise.

most of my music now-a-days is digital; i use itunes and am in the process of re-ripping my cd music to flac and coping/converting to alac (if i ever move away from itunes, i don't want to go through the hassle again).

i use a macbook and a couple PCs which have nothing special in the sound-card department.

i have a couple pairs of decent iems - an old set of sure E3c phones and a newer set of ety HF5 phones (to be honest, i can hardly tell the difference between them, even though one is dynamic and the other is ba).  i would like to allow for harder-to-drive over-ear phones and running a pair of desktop monitors in the future.

i want to acquire components over time, and get ones that provide for a logical upgrade path, so I was thinking about first getting the HDP to power headphones and use as a DAC, then getting some active speakers to hook to it, figuring i could get the Icon Amp if i decide i want to drive passive speakers.

then i was thinking about the Icon-2...  i'm sure the DAC isn't as good, and there is not a pre-amp, and a limited line out, but it can drive passive speakers...  but not big ones...  i have a pair of dynaudio BM5 monitors, but i don't think the Icon-2 or the Icon Amp would make them sing...

i guess i am just asking for opinions...

1. has anyone used the HDP and the Icon Amp together?  the HDP has a pre-amp out - does it play nicely with the Icon Amp, or should i look for a different amp with a fixed gain to power more reasonable passive speakers?