I own the Atom stack and like it. Now, I want a more fun amp+DAC setup < $300.
Mar 21, 2021 at 2:01 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

BetaWolf

100+ Head-Fier
I've been listening to this for a few months now. I like how it doesn't color the audio at all. Powering my headphones, it's very unbiased. Now, I'd like something that's going to make the highs sparkle a bit and make the bass sound more punchy and tight. Objectivity and measurements be damned. I connected my K371 to my Sansa Clip+ and love the amplification in that.

For DACs, I could reuse my Atom DAC. It's not the end of the world if I can't, but I'd like something new with optical in.

For amps, I am looking at Liquid Spark, SAP-12, Magni 3+, Zen CAN, Archel 2, Topping A50, or AAA ONE.

For headphones, I own the Pro 80, CAL, K371, and 660S (single ended cable only).

Mar 21, 2021 at 2:34 PM Post #2 of 8
Eh. Just run EQ. Nothing you're looking at will be that much different.

Mar 21, 2021 at 3:57 PM Post #5 of 8
Tighten the bass with EQ???
Nothing you're looking at is going to "tighten bass"; proper eq may clean things up a little.

Mar 21, 2021 at 7:27 PM Post #7 of 8
I don’t think the amps will increase the bass from others have a Atom, Spark , Magni 3 and Zen Can Signature 6XX and don’t think either are more bass heavy than any other the Zen Can does bring quite a bit more power with the balanced output .

Mar 22, 2021 at 12:13 PM Post #8 of 8
I've been listening to this for a few months now. I like how it doesn't color the audio at all. Powering my headphones, it's very unbiased. Now, I'd like something that's going to make the highs sparkle a bit and make the bass sound more punchy and tight. Objectivity and measurements be damned. I connected my K371 to my Sansa Clip+ and love the amplification in that.
For DACs, I could reuse my Atom DAC. It's not the end of the world if I can't, but I'd like something new with optical in.