I need some help setting up my headphones
Sep 23, 2004 at 3:24 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Drakemoor

100+ Head-Fier
I'm really new to this so i'm looking for some help on a few things. I'm about to buy a pair of Sennheiser HD 555's and will be using my computer as the source. I have an onboard nvidia soundstorm and a soundblaster (not great, i know but it'll have to do for the minute). The soundstorm has an optical out but the only thing i've used that for so far is a minidisc recorder, i normally just use the line out on the soundblaster because the soundstorms line out is full of hiss. I've been told the senn's won't work too well on the line out (is this because theres not enough power to drive it or because the sound quality from the line out is so poor?) and i've been told i'd be better off buying an amp to drive them and getting a chaintech soundcard, this is where things get problematic for me. If i bought the chaintech card would i use the line out or the Optical out, if so how would i then connect it to an amp?

I'm pretty sure i've been looking too hard into this (i was thinking of using the optical out connected to a digital to analogue converter and then into the amp, but i'd surely be losing quality from having it go through so many components and i'm assuming theres a much easier way around this problem).

Sorry for the stupidity of the question, like i said i'm pretty new to it, any info you could give me on it would be greatly appreciated.
smily_headphones1.gif

Sep 23, 2004 at 3:33 PM Post #2 of 6
Unless you get a special (and very expensive) amps, most amps don't have digital or optical line in. So you are likely to be using Line Out of the Chaintech card. Besides, Hi Quality setting only uses that Line Out via the Wolfson DAC. Get a PiMETA if you can off some of these fine Head-Fi'ers (from $100 to $200) and you will be in heaven w/ Chaintech and 555.
smily_headphones1.gif

EDIT: Oh and welcome!!

Sep 23, 2004 at 6:29 PM Post #3 of 6