I have been working with electronics for many years and just ran into a problem I have never seen before.
Mar 2, 2015 at 2:52 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

drambit

New Head-Fier
I don't even understand what is happening so I'll just explain the situation. I've been fixing headphones for friend of mine for a few months now, and yesterday a friend of mine came to me with a pair of Monster DNA earbuds (they look like this: http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41vzozWd0fL._SY300_.jpg). He said that the jack was broken and that wiggling the cable near the jack would cause audio in the left channel to drop in and out. This is a common problem with headphone jacks so I cut it off (these jacks are impossible to open up) and soldered all the loose wires to a different jack I had lying around (it's a 3 ring jack btw, there is an in-line microphone.)

After soldering the cable to a new jack, I managed to fix the problem of audio dropping randomly in and out, but the audio was very noticeably muffled, in a way that I can't properly explain, it just really didn't sound right. I started playing around with things and discovered that on the in-line mic there was 3 buttons, one for volume +, one for volume -, and another one that I have no idea what it is supposed to be for, but pressing it instantly makes the audio sound very good and completely removes any muffling that was happening before. Here's what the little in-line remote looks like: http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41opFINqJwL.jpg 

I tried removing the mic wire from the headphone jack so that the in-line remote wouldn't do anything, but instead of making it never muffled it made it always muffled, and pressing the button doesn't fix it anymore, so I'm really really confused as to what is going on with this. I'm not even sure what the button was originally intended to do, but I imagine it isn't this. 

Can anyone here help me understand what's going on here? It's blowing my god damn mind.