I have a problem....what to do with my life?
Jan 6, 2008 at 6:28 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 40

darkangel9685

100+ Head-Fier
I hate school. Period. End of story.

I've been in college for a while now, first at Adelphi University for 3 semesters, and then at where I currnetly am, John Jay College, for the past 5 semesters. I'm majoring in Fire Science - Fire Investigation speciality.

I just feel that I've gotten nowhere with school. I want out. The job I really want, that of a County Fire Marshall, is a civil service test, so a college education isn't necessary (although 5 yrs of fire dept experience is, which is coming up in October, which, by coincidence, is when their test is offered)

Right now registration is open for next semester (spring 08). Part of me feels like i should go through with it, but another part feels like it's not worth it. If I don't I piss off the girlfriend and parents a lot.

School is useless to me, I feel. I need Chemistry 2, OrganicChem, senior level Fire Science courses and Physics 1+2. Do I really need Physics in the real world? I can understand the chem stuff, but laws of motion and velocity?

Sorry for this useless rant, I just need to vent out somehow.

Jan 6, 2008 at 6:36 PM Post #2 of 40
School may seem useless now, but in XX years when you want some promotion or something, it will be a requirement and you'll REALLY wish you kept at it.

Experience talking.

GAD

Jan 6, 2008 at 6:41 PM Post #3 of 40
Dude, if you are going to be investigating fires, an understanding of Physics will give you deeper insights into how things happen in the real world. Other than that, I can't map things out for you. College is not for everyone, and I can say for myself, that I have spent all the years since college unlearning everything I learned. Call it growing up.