I currently own the Phillips Fidelio X1. Do I need a desktop amp?
Jan 9, 2014 at 4:59 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

ayvo

New Head-Fier
I am quite new to anything sound related, as it never really interested me too much in the past. But I finally decided to attempt to get something that was comfortable and sounded great, and I think they are very good. But I wonder if I can improve the sound with an amp? I enjoy listening to FLAC music, but I don't think my desktop can fully give me the sound. And if yes, I would love some recommendations, for not overly high prices, as I am a student, and my budget is not too great.

To sum it up shortly, can I improve my sound with a desktop amp, and if yes, is there a decently priced user friendly amp? (I've never used one before and I have no idea how they work..) 

I realize this is probably a very bad question to ask, but on a slightly unrelated note, is there a can I could've bought that would've been better for the price of the Fidelio X1's?

Jan 9, 2014 at 5:34 AM Post #2 of 18
well it seems like you listen out of a computer to me so here's an explanation if that's the case.
The Fidelio X1 could use a desktop amp but before that, you need a dac or even if you don't want a amp i recommend that you get one. A dac would be connected to your computer's usb input. This will definitely improve sound. Now, amps, well I suggest not buy an amp at all if you consider buying some portable one. The X1 doesn't really need amplification but it could use the sound quality. You should really go to some hifi shop and try out thogh. What budget are you thinking by the way; need to know that to suggest anything.

Depends on what sound you want or the type of music you listen to.

Jan 9, 2014 at 5:38 AM Post #3 of 18
fiio dac/amp E10 or E7 or E17 can do the job.
or else Asus Xonar DG pci soundcard, if you use desktop computer.

Jan 9, 2014 at 5:51 AM Post #5 of 18