I broke my Ipod... in an interesting way.
Apr 11, 2006 at 12:17 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 27

BavariaBarbarian

100+ Head-Fier
As described in this thread: http://www6.head-fi.org/forums/showthread.php?t=161993
my Ipod developed massive DC-offset on the lineout.
So I started poking around inside the Ipod.
At first I intended to replace the obviously broken output caps, but then, some four weeks ago, I rather bought another Ipod mainboard on ebay to replace the whole thing.

With a new working mainboard on hand and the old one to spare I thought to myself: "Why not have some fun?"
icon10.gif

- I suppose you're thinking along the same lines, so here it goes:

Lacking the datasheet dor the WM8975 I studied the publically available datasheets of the WM8971 and WM8973.

Playing a test tone and looking for the characteristic DC-offsets of my faulty DAC, I found that all three seem to use the same pins for the lineout:
v66f7m.jpg

Larger picture here: http://i1.tinypic.com/v66989.jpg
Those pins are a mere 0.5mm apart and I've got nowhere near the soldering skills to attach anything to them.
But conveniently, after only a very short while the signal passes through what I strongly suspect to be the output caps, and those pads are a diferent matter:

v66fig.jpg

Larger picture here:
http://i1.tinypic.com/v669o9.jpg

I simply tacked two small wires (AWG 26 OFC) to the capacitor"leads" and fed the signal into a DIY switchbox along with the original linout (using the lineout GND for both signals).

So now for the interesting part: How does it sound?
- Nice. Very nice.
wink.gif

I don't have trained ears or very fancy gear, I used my Pimeta, modded Sennheiser HD25-1 and ALAC / lame -ape files for this test.
The difference in soundquality between the two signals was very subtle to my ears. Subtle, but noticeable and very likeable.
wink.gif

When I first switched from the lineout I thought "Wow, this is better!".