I am new to digital photography and looking for tips on a good camera to purchase
May 5, 2006 at 4:59 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 31

MrEcted1

100+ Head-Fier
Hey guys,

I am really wanting to purchase a high quality digital camera. I have always loved photography but never been able to afford anything nice at all. What would you say is the absolute best purchase I can make for less then $1000.00. I'm really looking in the $500.00 to $800.00 range if possible.

So far i've been looking at the Canon Digital Rebel XT and the Canon 10D. I've heard nothing but praises for the 20D, but I just can't spend that much cash, besides although i've taken thousands of pix with cheap-o camera's, i'm totally new to Digital SLR cameras, so I don't want to start with something that I probably will not know how to take full advantage of anyways.

Help is greatly appreciated!

May 5, 2006 at 5:03 AM Post #2 of 31
The Rebel XT is a great camera and the Nikon D50 is right in it's alley.
I would recommend you getting one of those two because you will crave for more if you get a non-DSLR
A great site for reviews: http://www.dpreview.com

May 5, 2006 at 5:03 AM Post #3 of 31
Got the XT. I don't consider myself good enough to splurge for one of the more expensive ones. I do have a couple of L lenses. The kit lens with the XT is so-so.

May 5, 2006 at 6:47 AM Post #5 of 31
The cameras I would recommend are:

Canon Digital Rebel XT
Nikon D50
Nikon D70s

Only buy a body/memory so you can buy the lens elsewhere. The kit lens is pretty much crap.

For starters, I recommend getting the Tamron SP AF 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD Its an extremely good budget lens and is the best choice for a beggining photographer.

May 5, 2006 at 6:51 AM Post #6 of 31
Quote:

Originally Posted by MrEcted1
What's a good all-around lense to get if I decide on the XT? (and about how much $$$ would it cost)