How to hook up a condenser microphone to the PC?
Oct 27, 2009 at 7:20 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

Cyrilix

500+ Head-Fier
So, long story short is that I'm a newb, and wanted to toy around with a condenser microphone for general purpose PC usage, so I bought the Audio-Technica AT2020. The box arrived today.

1 - There's no desktop stand, so I'll have to buy one.
2 - The connector on the microphone is XLR. My sound card takes 1/8" as input.

2 is what I'm worried about. How do I cheaply (preferably around $50 or less) connect a microphone to the PC? I've seen a few solutions so far... one involves using a preamp, and things get complicated. I don't really want to go down that path. Another solution uses an XLR to USB cable (LightSnake STUSBXLR10) which seems to have a preamp inside the cable, and you just hook it up to USB. Quite simple, for around $40.

How about an XLR to microphone in cable (microphone in connection is on my HT Omega Striker 7.1 soundcard)? I've heard some stuff about phantom power (don't really know what it is) but it seems to complicate things.

So to all you guys that are pretty good with microphone connections, what's my best option (for cheap)?

Thanks.

Oct 27, 2009 at 8:21 PM Post #2 of 9
You're going to need some sort of microphone preamp that can supply phantom power to your mic.

The XLR-USB cable you listed doesn't seem to supply phantom power, so I'd say it's a no-go.

Check out Zzsounds, Musician's Friend, and Sweetwater for some different options.

Oct 29, 2009 at 11:59 PM Post #3 of 9
What do you guys think of the M-Audio MobilePre USB for $134 CAD? Can I do better for cheaper?

If I get something like that, I'll also need a XLR-M to XLR-F cable as well, to hook up the mic to the preamp, right?

Oct 30, 2009 at 12:25 AM Post #4 of 9
I don't have any experience with that particular unit, but M-Audio tends to make pretty decent stuff.

Oct 30, 2009 at 1:31 AM Post #5 of 9