How should I drive my new K712 Pro? (budget)
Jan 30, 2015 at 3:14 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

mccao

New Head-Fier
I've recently obtained a pair of K712 Pros, but I don't have any amps or dac's aside from a DX50 for my IEMs. I plan to use the K712 for quiet listening with my laptop as the primary source. I hear that even though it the K712 doesn't have high impedance it should be treated as such. If so, is there any ~$120 budget set ups that will be sufficient for the K712 to shine? Preferably a 3.5mm input jack so I can connect w/o too many cables/another dac.
I'm still a noob in this so please send help. Thanks!

Jan 30, 2015 at 5:35 PM Post #2 of 11
In that budget for DAC+amp, you are really working with either FiiO E10K or Schiit Fulla, and E10K will probably have more juice.

Or you can settle for onboard DAC for now and just get an amp, in that case you can get a Schiit Magni 2 for $99.

Jan 30, 2015 at 9:12 PM Post #3 of 11
  I hear that even though it the K712 doesn't have high impedance it should be treated as such.

What? Where'd you get that idea? You can drive a 300ohm headphone like the HD600 with an amp with high output impedance, like many intergrated (speaker) amps' or CDPs' integrated headphone outputs. Use the same amp on the K7xx series, and you will probably end up with tinny sound and inarticulate bass.

Jan 30, 2015 at 9:39 PM Post #5 of 11
  I am guessing what he means is that although their impedance is not high, you still need an amp to drive them adequately. Common misconception of "more ohms -> need bigger amp".

Oh, efficiency basically. The AKGs are also efficient; problem with them is that when you hook them up to a good amp vs any source the numbers would normally say should be enough makes them sound thin. It's not even a matter of the amp coloring the sound - relatively powerful, very clean amps can really make the AKGs' reproduction f percussion for example sound more life like.