How loud would 250 OHM Headphones go without an AMP?
Oct 12, 2012 at 4:26 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Vidya

New Head-Fier
Hey,

I've been looking into some Beyerdynamic 880s and 990s but I'm not sure about if you NEED an amp for them since I'm a noob to audiophillia. I would probably eventually get an amp but not in the near future, would I be able to use them straight into a Z77 ASUS Sabertooth motherboard and be able to hear audio reasonably?

(I know there are 32 etc ohm versions but I am planning on getting an amp in a few months time)

Oct 12, 2012 at 4:37 PM Post #2 of 6
Your motherboard will be absolutely fine, i've tested my Hifiman HE5-LE's straight from my onboard audio and they are driven to reasonable levels.

If a motherboard soundcard can drive them it can drive anything.

Oct 12, 2012 at 5:06 PM Post #3 of 6
Quote:
Hey,

I've been looking into some Beyerdynamic 880s and 990s but I'm not sure about if you NEED an amp for them since I'm a noob to audiophillia. I would probably eventually get an amp but not in the near future, would I be able to use them straight into a Z77 ASUS Sabertooth motherboard and be able to hear audio reasonably?

(I know there are 32 etc ohm versions but I am planning on getting an amp in a few months time)

Well, simple calculation can give you a ball park number. For example, Beyerdynamic DT880 250 ohm has a sensitivity of 96. A computer sound card typically outputs 0.5-2v. So your maximum sound from DT880 is anywhere between 96-107 dB.

How loud is 107dB? It is about as loud as [size=x-small][size=x-small]timpani & bass drum rolling. So it is loud enough to be heard if you dial your pc volume to the max.[/size][/size]

[size=x-small][size=x-small]However, if you play classical music which has wide dynamic range, 107dB is not high enough. You will most likely experience some sound peak clip-off. That is when you need a headphone amp.[/size][/size]

Oct 12, 2012 at 5:12 PM Post #4 of 6